Mark's Pronunciation Blog

This is Mark Hancock's blog strand devoted specifically to ideas and issues connected to pronunciation teaching.

Twang!

Posted by: 
Twang! - hancockmcdonald.com/blog/twang

View 7: Twang!

Seventh in the series Accent through the keyhole. Scroll down for the mp3 podcast version.

So what’s this post about?

Getting Rid of your Accent

Posted by: 
Getting Rid of your Accent - hancockmcdonald.com/blog/getting-rid-your-accent

Sixth in the series Accent through the keyhole. Scroll down for the mp3 podcast version.

Why are you illustrating this post with a picture of a mouthless face?

Accent Creep

Posted by: 
Accent Creep - hancockmcdonald.com/blog/accent-creep

Fifth in the blog/podcast series Accent through the keyhole. Scroll down for the mp3 download.

So who’s this accent creep you mention in the title?

The Bad Boy of English Pronunciation

Posted by: 
The Bad Boy of English Pronunciation - hancockmcdonald.com/blog/bad-boy-english-pronunciation

Fancy an accent tattoo? Fourth in the series Accent Through the Keyhole. Scroll down for the mp3 podcast download.

Speech sounds are just neutral, aren’t they? So how can there be a ‘bad boy’?

The Reverse Lisp

Posted by: 
The Reverse Lisp - hancockmcdonald.com/blog/reverse-lisp

One person's prestige accent is another person's speech impediment. Third in the series Accent through the keyhole. Scroll down for the mp3 podcast version.

Can you remind us what a lisp is?

The Brogue Meridian

Posted by: 
The Brogue Meridian - hancockmcdonald.com/blog/brogue-meridian

This is the second in the blog/podcast series Accent Through the Keyhole: small views of big pictures. Scroll down for the mp3 podcast.

Accent Through the Keyhole: small views of big pictures

Posted by: 
Mark Hancock's blog on accent in ELT

This series of 8 podcasts / posts looks at key questions relating to accent and English teaching by focusing on specific instances and generalizing out from them. This page serves as a contents list for the series:

View 1: Either will do. In which we look at what's not important in pronunciation teaching.

Either will do

Posted by: 
Mark's Pronunciation Blog - hancockmcdonald.com/blog/topic/marks-pronunciation-blog

ACCENT THROUGH THE KEYHOLE: small views of big pictures. This series of posts looks at key questions relating to accent and English teaching by focusing on specific instances and generalizing out from them. Check out the podcast too - it's at the bottom of the page...     

An Intensive Course in Teaching Pronunciation

Posted by: 
Event date: 
Friday, August 26, 2016 (All day)
Access denied - hancockmcdonald.com/node

Manchester in summer is not always something to write home about, but this summer was different. Norwich Institute of Language Education (NILE) offered their first ever pronunciation teaching course, and I was the tutor and course designer. It took place as part of NILE’s summer programme at their Manchester site.

Materials Writing: Turning constraints into assets

Posted by: 
Materials Writing: Turning constraints into assets - hancockmcdonald.com/blog/materials-writing-turning-constraints-assets

ELT materials writing is a creative process, and the prospect of creating something from nothing on an empty white page can be quite daunting. But the materials writer has to do just that, and moreover, do it within very tight constraints. For instance, if you are writing a narrative for ELT purposes, it must not only be engaging as a narrative, but it must also be useful as a learning tool.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Mark's Pronunciation Blog