Culture

Accent by Numbers

Posted by: 
Accent by Numbers - hancockmcdonald.com/blog/accent-numbers

Eighth and last in the series Accent through the keyhole. Scroll down for the mp3 podcast version.

What’s the correct answer to the accent by numbers puzzle?

Twang!

Posted by: 
Twang! - hancockmcdonald.com/blog/twang

View 7: Twang!

Seventh in the series Accent through the keyhole. Scroll down for the mp3 podcast version.

So what’s this post about?

Getting Rid of your Accent

Posted by: 
Getting Rid of your Accent - hancockmcdonald.com/blog/getting-rid-your-accent

Sixth in the series Accent through the keyhole. Scroll down for the mp3 podcast version.

Why are you illustrating this post with a picture of a mouthless face?

Accent Creep

Posted by: 
Accent Creep - hancockmcdonald.com/blog/accent-creep

Fifth in the blog/podcast series Accent through the keyhole. Scroll down for the mp3 download.

So who’s this accent creep you mention in the title?

The Bad Boy of English Pronunciation

Posted by: 
The Bad Boy of English Pronunciation - hancockmcdonald.com/blog/bad-boy-english-pronunciation

Fancy an accent tattoo? Fourth in the series Accent Through the Keyhole. Scroll down for the mp3 podcast download.

Speech sounds are just neutral, aren’t they? So how can there be a ‘bad boy’?

The Reverse Lisp

Posted by: 
The Reverse Lisp - hancockmcdonald.com/blog/reverse-lisp

One person's prestige accent is another person's speech impediment. Third in the series Accent through the keyhole. Scroll down for the mp3 podcast version.

Can you remind us what a lisp is?

The Brogue Meridian

Posted by: 
The Brogue Meridian - hancockmcdonald.com/blog/brogue-meridian

This is the second in the blog/podcast series Accent Through the Keyhole: small views of big pictures. Scroll down for the mp3 podcast.

Accent Through the Keyhole: small views of big pictures

Posted by: 
Mark Hancock's blog on accent in ELT

This series of 8 podcasts / posts looks at key questions relating to accent and English teaching by focusing on specific instances and generalizing out from them. This page serves as a contents list for the series:

View 1: Either will do. In which we look at what's not important in pronunciation teaching.

Either will do

Posted by: 
Mark's Pronunciation Blog - hancockmcdonald.com/blog/topic/marks-pronunciation-blog

ACCENT THROUGH THE KEYHOLE: small views of big pictures. This series of posts looks at key questions relating to accent and English teaching by focusing on specific instances and generalizing out from them. Check out the podcast too - it's at the bottom of the page...     

Noureddine Azmi on how teaching with ICT can open minds

Posted by: 
APAC 2013 - hancockmcdonald.com/blog/topic/apac-2013

Noureddine began by describing his teaching context in Morocco. The students he is working with already have a high level of English, but needed to develop their intercultural understanding, and in particular, openness to new ideas. He went on to explain the perspective transformation theoretical framework, as developed by Jack Mezirow.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Culture